AuthorTopic: New member- looking for some advice!  (Read 2137 times)

Offline Mudslinger85

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
    • Bucks
  • Referrals: 0
New member- looking for some advice!
« on: August 14, 2011, 19:09:59 »
Evening all,

I'm James, new to the forum and a complete newbie to the world of off roading, although have been interested and researching for a while.

I would definitely like to look for a 4x4 but have 2 different reasons for doing so. 

1, I would like a second car, something capable to deal with the snow that seems to be a fixture each year.  I also do a lot of shooting and outdoors stuff (survival camping, kayaking etc) and need something capable of dealing with the various off road situations I end up in.  I currently own a 330i m sport auto BMW which is possibly the worst car for the aforementioned driving conditions!

2, I would love to get into greenlaning and offroading.

I realise that the scenarios above are not neccesarily going to fit well together in a single motor! 

So, I would love your opinions on a cheapish (3k or less) 4x4 that could take a bit of a battering, has good load space (I'm 6ft3 so need a bit of leg and head room) and generally reliable without a huge amount of maintenance cost and work required. Good running costs would be helpful too. 

As you can see I don't want much!

Look forward to learning lots and (hopefully) getting out to see some mud slinging action!

Atb

James

Offline LandRoger

• Regional Rep
    Attack Member
    • Salisbury Plain Wilts.
Re: New member- looking for some advice!
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2011, 20:27:10 »