AuthorTopic: Car Dealers  (Read 919 times)

Offline Yoshi

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Car Dealers
« on: January 28, 2009, 11:44:05 »
Me little brother (who is a special needs adult) bought a car from a dealership 2 weeks ago.  Day before yesterday head gasket went.  When he phoned the garage yesterday they tried to tell him that he would have to pay for the repair (dealership gave a 3 month warranty on paper).

So now i have a nice afternoon of trying to get him a refund (i work in the trade sometimes) and thats going to be fun! lol

Just wanted a rant!

P.s. avoid Teville Motor Company in Worthing!

1995 Discovery XS 300TDi 4" lift and ready to go!

There is no devil, theres only god when he's drunk - Tom Waits.

Offline crazymac

Attack Member
Re: Car Dealers
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 12:01:48 »
It really does depend on the details of the warranty!

Read the small print carefully. Unfortunately many of these warranties are not worth the paper they are printed on!!

You may not have a leg to stand on unfortunately :'(
I HAVE THE BODY OF A GOD

shame its Budda!!

Offline Yoshi

Attack Member
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 12:28:18 »
Am not worried about the warranty, i have the sale of goods act and the fact the car is not fit for purpose. 

Also the warranty depends from company to company, i.e. the warranties i offer when doing my bit are a proper warranty with a warranty company, not an in house one.

Offline barnhill4x4

Attack Member
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 12:29:16 »
Its within 30 days, Sale of Goods act, Not fit for Purpose.

Offline kevinf

Attack Member
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 12:30:00 »