AuthorTopic: My old Series 1 engine is getting tired.  (Read 4310 times)

Offline auf_wiedersehen_pet

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
My old Series 1 engine is getting tired.
« on: January 01, 2009, 19:54:54 »
My old Series 1 engine is getting tired - I'm not an expert, it's just my gut feeling.

It is an original 2.0 (1955) with an unknown mileage and there are no signs of a rebuild.

What should I do/fit?

It will only ever be a summer car - no roof, no doors - just a bit of fun.

Rob Steele

1995 Land Rover Discovery 300 TDi - Everyday Car (Ex Jap)
2007 Toyota Avensis 2.2 T-180 - Sensible Car (Ex TSB Bank)

Offline S188

Attack Member
Re: My old Series 1 engine is getting tired.
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2009, 17:30:51 »
If the vehicle is otherwise original I'd be inclined to keep it that way, when they are running right they are still great things.

If its got vereous minor mods then I'd stick something slightly newer in, probubly 2.25 or sherpa in, prima isn't a bad idea eather but a bit revvy for my likeing - not so good for gental summer crusing down back lanes on near tickover like you can with the original.  Any of them will fit without much if an chopping around required so its not that perminant.  Just watch the front pully on the axle caseing, a bit tight on 86" but fine with good front spings/bumpstops.
Glen
1956 88" Station Wagon
1992 VW Transporter Syncro
19** assorted broken machinery

Offline Henry Webster

Attack Member
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2009, 18:56:03 »
I'm quite liking the look of the 200 tdi conversion that has featured in LRW the last two months.  Cheap Disco TDis are plentiful!

Offline bogie

Attack Member
  • IF IT AINT GOT LEAFS,ITS NO GOOD!!!!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 16:59:06 »