AuthorTopic: 2 steps forward and one step back.....  (Read 1453 times)

Offline davidjmiller

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
2 steps forward and one step back.....
« on: October 12, 2008, 16:14:17 »
I'm such a numpty - I've posted this for your enjoyment. If I embarass myself on here maybe I'll think a LITTLE MORE NEXT TIME.

So, yesterday I finally managed to get the steering guard on my D1. To say I'm not a mechanic, made worse by a poor set of tools, is an understatement. It was the third attempt and I had to take it to the village garage cos I could not get the nuts loose.

So, I'd done the guard on my defender no probs but these Disco's - there's not much room is there?? The valence was the problem so at one point I thought I'd take the big bolt out, you know, the one that holds the steering bit to the driver side chassis. It's stuck, but it'll be ok to tempt it out hitting it flat on with a flat faced hammer, right!!!

Anyway, it would not budge and so an hour or so later with help of two sons and "trimming" of the front valance the guard is on. I'm exstatic!!! I go to put the nuts on the bolts but I can't one on (no pizes for guessing which one). I'm fed up by this point so leave it til today. Sure enough I've damaged the thread so it will be dropped off at the garage on my way to work tomorrow.

Presumably they'll either replace the bolt or use a tappet and dye set to re-thread??? (Like I said, no mechanic!!!).

Next job, EGR blanking arrived yesterday!!!!!

Hope you lol'ed!!

David
1986 110 coniston green LPG-powered 3.5LV8   --- gone, gone, gone. Replaced by 300Tdi auto DISCO

Offline mobi

Attack Member
Re: 2 steps forward and one step back.....
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2008, 19:59:16 »
i didn't take the bolt out just take the nut off and slide the guard over, and then put the bolt in the other side.

Offline lee celtic

• Regional Rep
    Attack Member
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2008, 20:42:25 »