AuthorTopic: Hello all ................ observations & comments welcome too !!!  (Read 2789 times)

Offline boogieman

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Hello from me, Phil  :smiley: (this is my 1st post!)

Well, I'm new to off-roading so I'll just tell you about my situation & look forward to any feedback.

I've been buying different off-roading mags for some months now just 'cos they looked interesting, which they definitely are  :smiley:

About a year ago, I bought a Jeep Grand Cherokee, because I loved the looks of them, I preferred the higher driving position & I'd always promised myself a big, powerful, fully loaded motor when I could afford one !! Well, it wasn't long before I was seeing the ads for pay & play days & thinking ................ mmm - wouldn't mind a go at that  :) So I went along to Weston Coyney to have a go & I bloody loved it  :lol: I think I've got the bug & I can't wait to go again !

Incidentally, there were 4 of us - me, my girlfriend & her 2 kids. Girlfriend & her son were terrified & hated it, which resulted in us having to leave them by the snack van so we could have another go. Girlfriend's daughter absolutely loved it & my questions 'Do you think we can tackle that hill ?' or 'How about that slope ?' were all met with a big grin & an enthusiastic 'Go for it !'  :D

The Jeep was great - 1st time off-road & handled everything with ease - I was impressed !

Now the dilemna - what do I go off-roading in ???

The Jeep's a 2001 3.1td in excellent condition with only 47,000 on the clock & I'm thinking it's a little too nice to start roughing up - we already scraped the bottom twice at W/C ! Apart from that, we travel alot around the country gigging & I'm worried what damage we could do to the suspension/steering components & tyres by going off-road, which may then compromise safety at high speeds on motorways etc. My 3 passengers are precious to me !