AuthorTopic: LR Virgin  (Read 1284 times)

Offline zacspeed

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
LR Virgin
« on: November 07, 2007, 17:07:34 »
I've posted this on A.N.Other forum, but I really would like as much feedback/opinion as possible:

Hi folks, be gentle with me here, as the title suggests - I'm a complete noob to all things green & ovular.
I currently own a fairly capable soft top Vitara which I love to pieces, but I really need something a little bigger (I'm also a little concerned that the local scrotes have discovered they can gain entry to this vehicle by simply unzipping the rear door  :evil:   ). I have my heart set on either an LR 90 or early Defender.
I have a strict budget of £2k & I have my eye on a bog-standard 1987 LR90 4C 1987 2.5 petrol with 98k on the clock. The bloke is asking £1600 for it & I think he'll take about 13-1400 for it. I've not had a good poke around underneath yet, but he reckons the chassis, outriggers & bulkhead are all solid. What else should I be looking out for?
My real concern is the fact it's petrol. What are the 2.5's like on economy? Are they horrendously bad (I get 17-20 out of the Vitara).
Also, an MOT tester mate of mine who used to work for a LR dealer told me to avoid the early diesels as they are rubbish.
One more question for now, What size tyres are best for a 90? I don't plan on lifting the body or modifying the suspension, as it's mainly going to be used for green laning & commuting locally. I run Greenway Macho 31x10½x15's on the Vit, will these be any good (I know I'll need diffrent rims)?
Thanks for any advice I may get & Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh – don't tell anyone on the Suzuki section, they'll never let me live it down

Offline MY90 MY LIFE

Attack Member
LR Virgin
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 20:10:34 »