AuthorTopic: Wiring in an extra cigar lighter socket  (Read 7399 times)

Offline Steven

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Wiring in an extra cigar lighter socket
« on: August 26, 2007, 19:56:07 »
Hi everyone,

We like the idea of having a fridge in the back of the discovery which plugs into the cigar only so we can remove it when not in use, just like what we used to do when we had the Chrysler Voyager. The only thing is the wires not long enough and extending it is not an option really as we want the front free for the cigar lighter and just don’t want the wires trailing back into the boot.

So basically what we want is another cigar lighter socket built into the boot. I’m not really good with electrics and after the recent burnt wires in the front of the vehicle which we don’t know how it started, I don’t want to really go ahead and try wire one in without being sure.

So could any of you lot explain how to wire one in safely please. (sorry for the long description, lol)

Offline ids

Attack Member
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2007, 22:35:22 »
Hi

The officail LR guide is at http://www.ownerinfo.landrover.com/extfree2viewlrprod/viewit.jsp?szFrom=doc&iDocCode=669 however I did my own version as put sockets in the dash, rear of centre console and in the back.  See http://blackcountrylaners.co.uk/forums/thread/2032.aspx

Have fun

Offline petergalileo

Attack Member
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2007, 22:41:01 »
I got a nice surface mount 12 volt accessory socket from a local boat shop.  I ran a 30 amp twin core wire from the battery down the inside of the wing, through the bulkhead where a cable went in, behind the dash to drivers side floor then ran it along the side of the disco under the carpets, got it through past the rear seats, behind the panel of the boot seats to where the access panel for the rear lights is.

Put the hole in the back panel near the rear door hinges for the socket (1992 versions onwards have a light there too).