AuthorTopic: Do all of the RRC's sit lower at the back than the front  (Read 1222 times)

Offline AndyN

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Do all of the RRC's sit lower at the back than the front
« on: August 13, 2007, 22:18:25 »
Mine sits about an inch and a half lower at the rear than at the front, is this normal as ive seen quite a few like it but it just doesnt look right.

I ve seen somewhere that you can get better rear springs that the police and commercial spec motors were fitted with but are they worth bothering with?

And if they just sag with age and should be replaced, what aftermarket spring/shocks do you guys and girls run on yours?

I'd be grateful of any advice as i'm new to all this, Andy.

Guardian.

« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2007, 23:10:18 »
springs are shot mate, nice new set will sort you out.
they just sag with age, like me.

Offline Range Rover Blues

Attack Member
    • South Yorkshire
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2007, 23:40:50 »
The back springs were designed to be soft, the rear end is supplimented by the Boge self-leveling unit but this won't do anything when the car is stationary. I think your springs are tired but does it bottom out?

Discos have heavier rear springs as they don't have the self-leveller, or the EFi had the red/whites as a heavy duty option, the standard spring should be progressive.  With the red/whites I expect you will see the back end go up above standard.

Standard ride height is 790mm from floor to wheelarch eyebrow on standard 205 A/T.

Some folks think even the police spec (deisel front springs and red/white backs) are too soft and wallowy, they are definitely better with ARBs.
Blue,  1988  Range Rover 3.5 EFi with plenty of toys bolted on
Chuggaboom, 1995 Range Rover Classic
1995 Range Rover Classic Vogue LSE with 5 big sticks of Blackpool rock under the bonnet.

Offline AndyN

Attack Member
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2007, 12:16:07 »