AuthorTopic: Alarm and stuff  (Read 977 times)

Offline marcus20VT

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Alarm and stuff
« on: February 02, 2007, 18:34:34 »
Hi - just bought a vit soft top - can anyone reccomend an alarm that you can use even when the roof is down please?
Also would like to do some sort of laning, but I dunno if I want to go the whole hog into the messy meddy stuff (yet!) - whats the best mod to make, is it a lift, or would you advise AT tyres even though it will be mainly road use?

Cheers People!

Offline larry

Attack Member
Alarm and stuff
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2007, 20:50:52 »
Autowatch alarms are the best they work like a swiss watch

i am not a fan of microwave sensors as they pick up swaying overhead branches and running water in drains under the vehicle

autowatch ultra sonic sensors correctly positioned work a treat they are self calibrating so give little trouble
 (i have been fitting this kind of equiptment  for 14 years let me know if i can help more)

Offline Evilgoat

Attack Member
Alarm and stuff
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2007, 09:06:31 »
Ultrasound wont work in a soft top, too much air disturbance etc. Basically its Microwave or get crafty with something else. When Rabbit's refit is done she'll have door sensors, sea sensors and power drop sensing on it. Should stop most things. Might put a microwave sensor in just to 'chirp' when people get too close.
I must confess the the activities of the UK governments for the past couple of years have been watched with frank admiration and amazement by Lord Vetinari. Outright theft as a policy had never occured to him.

-- (Terry Pratchett, alt.fan.pratchett)

EX HK Police Mitsubishi Pajero 2.8TD
Audi S2 Avant 360bhp
Transit LWB 2.5di (The Shed)

Offline marcus20VT

Attack Member
Alarm and stuff
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2007, 09:28:30 »