AuthorTopic: 3.9 V8 Auto overheating  (Read 4240 times)

Offline Dr Strangeglove

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
3.9 V8 Auto overheating
« on: January 12, 2007, 17:56:57 »
1991 3.9 Vogue SE overheating. :(

What should I look for?

I can feel air blowing from the side of the engine (off-side) if I put my hand down near the manifold (not saying it is the manifold blowing though) - could this be related!!

Any suggestions as to what to look for would be appreciated (I am a beginner at this so suggest the most basic of things!) :oops:

Cheers

Mick
Too many sins, not enough temptation!
Too many armpits, not enough deodorant!
Forget maths, forget geometry
You cause explosions by being good at Chemistry
Too many mountains, not enough volcanoes!
Too many lawyers, not enough justice!!!

Offline Dr Strangeglove

Attack Member
forgot to mention
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2007, 19:27:35 »
When I bought the RR I drove it home and noticed water coming from under the engine!!  Oh-Poo I thinks - checked the header tank and it was OK.  Drove a couple of miles and low water light came on.  I refilled the header and drove on.  After another couple of miles same thing happens.  I got to a Garage, used two lots of radweld, filled with water and started it to run it through the system.  As I was dropping the bonnet I thought I saw some water spraying above the engine.  On looking in the correct area I noticed the top hose had a small split, thankfully near the engine.  We cut off about 2" from the end of the hose (which included the split) and re fitted it.  We ran the engine until we could feel the water in the top hose and we thought we had solved the problem :D

I drove home a further 45miles (ish) on the motorway keeping to about 55mph.  We arrived home OK and the temperature gauge stayed at about midway.  I then ran it a few times without any problem (but only on small journeys).