AuthorTopic: Viscous or electric  (Read 1126 times)

Offline ed209

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Viscous or electric
« on: January 08, 2007, 20:49:46 »
Hi All

As the question says Viscous or Electric fan??

As I am quite new to owning a landy i have been reading that some prefer one or the other for different reasons
Where would i find the inline temp switch etc for an electric fan?
Would i need a manual overide?
How reliable are electric fans?

Regards
'67 Series
SWB SW  
2.25 Derv
Parabolics Extended Shackles
Extended Shocks
RRC Diffs
750 x 16's
Roof Rack / Ladder
Bull Bar (Front) + Spots
14" Mountney steering wheel
Centre Cubby Box
Genuine L/R Oil Bath Air Filter for Snorkel
Snorkel  
65amp 110 Alternator  
*Staffie co driver (never complains and hates horses)*

'63 Series
SWB (open top)
2.25 Petrol (for now)
Rear Mount Tank

Offline Bob Ajob

Attack Member
Viscous or electric
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 21:04:15 »
Is it for the 67 2.25 diesel?
What do you use your Landrover for?

If you do a lot of off-roading with mucho water splashing, then an electric fan is very useful as you can turn it off to your engine and dizzy being spray washed. With a derv, it will just leave your engine cleaner, as water doesn't matter too much to a dizzy-less engine.

Viscous fans are good for keeping your engine cool, it will also prevent it warming up, some say it's not noticable, some say it is. Equally some say that MPG is improved by removing the viscous fan, others not. You probably get the same amount of MPG savings by ensuring your tyres are correctly inflated, though this is going off topic a bit.

We have a Ford 3 litre V6, it has an electric fan as the PO removed the viscous - it was a bit far away from the radiator to do any good, this engine sits quite low on the same mounts.