AuthorTopic: New to the 4x4 scene!  (Read 1311 times)

Offline dredgey

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
New to the 4x4 scene!
« on: November 14, 2006, 19:48:43 »
Hi to all!

I'm totally new to the 4x4 scene, but am hoping to get into it! I currently drive an imaculate VR6 VW Corrado which I love, but I'm considering selling it in order to fund a new car. I need something thats relatively new, and that will work as an everyday car as well as something that I can take off road.

I did one of those off road days in a Jeep Cherokee and absolutely loved it! So I'm considering buying either a new shape or the boxy older one similar to the one I drove on the day.

What I really want to know though is how they are regarded on the 4x4 scene? Are they good off road? Are they costly to run? if so, whats determined by 'costly'. Are they reliable when using for occasional off road use? Whats the better of the two - the new shape or the old shape???

Whats the better engine? I'd want to go for a manual and notice that they only come in a 2.4 sport and a 2.5 diesel?

Another question I have - I've been following the VW scene for years and of course theres plenty of modifications available to make them go faster, look more individual, etc etc. - is this the same for the 4x4 scene other than the obvious bigger tyres and raised suspension?

finally can anyone point me in the right direction for a good place to buy a 4x4?

thanks to anyone for any help they can offer!

Here's a pic of me getting my first taster of driving a 4x4!

Offline KD

Attack Member
New to the 4x4 scene!
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2006, 20:30:51 »
hi mate

welcome to the addictive world of offroading!