AuthorTopic: wobble at speed Disco 200td1 1990  (Read 647 times)

Offline lyndon

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
wobble at speed Disco 200td1 1990
« on: November 14, 2006, 14:09:37 »
Hi ladies and gents. This is my first post. So please be gentle with me.

I have just purchased a 1990 G reg Disco 1. It has just flown through an MOT.

Last week I had an experience where whilst overtaking a lorry I had a very bad shaking through the steering wheel. I checked everything, bearing in mind I have no experience with mechanics pther than the odd job driving tanks in the army.

It didn't re occur until on my way to work this morning when at 55mph it crept back in. It stopped when I slowed down a bit and started again when I went over a bump?.

Whats causing this?

Offline dazzawhipple

Attack Member
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2006, 15:21:56 »
Barrett

Welcome to the Mud Club

Steering vibration can be caused by lots of things including Tyre pressure, Tyre Balance, Wheel Bearing play, Swivel bearing play, Steering componants worn ie ball joints

Do a search on the forum for steering wobble or vibration

Darren
G'Day
Landcruiser 2004 , 4.2 Straight six, Diesel, Roo bar, Snorkel, Dual Batteries, UHF, Roof Consul, Rear Drawer storage system, 50mm Lift

Offline Dr.Ed

Attack Member
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2006, 16:20:38 »
Had this on my 200TDi discovery - vibration through the steering wheel at 65mph, got the front wheels balanced and problem went away - the fact that one wheel needed >200g of lead to balance it showed where the problem was!

Certainly one of the easiest and quickest checks you can do for this problem (after tyre pressures) most tyre places only charge about £5 per wheel however much lead goes on.

Ed.
Ed Walker

"Real life is for those who can't handle Real Ale"

Offline Skibum346

Attack Member
  • T. A. N. S. T. A. A. F. L.
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2006, 16:35:58 »
Quote from: "dazzawhipple"