AuthorTopic: Quad Bikes  (Read 1510 times)

Offline robbie

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Quad Bikes
« on: May 06, 2004, 16:15:44 »
Does anyone have any experience of Quad Bikes and if they are actually the fun they look to be :)

I have no knowledge of them and interested in your views :)
If I could only find some mud to play in, I would be as happy as the preverbial pig!!!

http://members.mud-club.com/profiles/robbie/gallery/
http://www.mudpics.co.uk/gallery/index.php

1985 Land Rover 90 being worked on for French plates soon
2002 Peugeot 406 GLX Estate - more economic then the Disco, but not as much fun :(
2005 Toyota Yaris T3 - new driving school car

Offline HiFonics

Attack Member
Quad Bikes
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2004, 16:52:15 »
Quad bikes are great fun but you really need somewhere to use them. You can road register them but its a bit of a nightmare and they are still really classed as an agricultural vehicle. You need to know what your doing though as they can be fairly leathal to corner and can get up to some silly speeds. I tried a Raptor 660 and it plained scared me. Most of my quad riding has been done on a Honda Bigred which always tended to be th farmers weapon of choice due to them being pretty much indestrucible. It will do 55mph across fields and up the roads but as it has no centre diff it corners like the QE2.

The Bigred is 4 stroke and tends to be very dependable. The 2 stroke quads in my experience tend to be a little temperamental. The Polaris Diesel is bloody noisy and really just a workhorse. You really need to think what you would want one for and when you would use it, then try a few out.

To get anything decent though you wll probably need to spend some pretty serious cash, otherwise expect to have it in bits more than you ride it. A decent one can cost up to £5k!

Cheers,

ben
99 Defender 90 TD5
04 Defender 110 TD5

Offline muddyweb

Attack Member
Quad Bikes
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2004, 16:58:28 »