AuthorTopic: F.A.O. the Scottish Contingent  (Read 860 times)

Offline Andy the Landy

• Regional Rep
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
F.A.O. the Scottish Contingent
« on: November 20, 2005, 00:27:21 »
Where do I start.
Possibly moving to Scotland next year and wanted to know what its like for the foreigner moving in.
Need to know how well kids are accepted in schools (9yr old and 4yr old). How well are British workers accepted into Scottish vacancies.
Currently looking at 3 areas -Argyll & Bute (Job vacancy) in Oban. Inverness-Shire (vacancy in Inverness) and Aberdeen (vacancy in Aberdeen). For those that dont know I drive coaches for a living so am looking at Citylink or Stagecoach Express (have interviews lines up with both). Need stabling for 2 horses and easy access to kennels for dogs when we go on holiday.
Most important question is - How many of you get out off roading and laning within easy reach of the 3 locations?
Cheers in advance
Andy

Offline Xtremeteam

• Regional Rep
    Attack Member
  • Its just the way i roll
    • lampeter, west wales
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2005, 11:59:40 »
i cant really help with the first part of your question as im based in fife,

But for the offroading & laning i can give some info just now,in the 3 areas you mention there is highland 4x4 club (oban) & buchan offroad drivers club (bordc) in the inverness,aberdeen area.both clubs do fun days & gentle rtvs i think,
as for laning its totaly different to england as there is one maybe 2 recognised rights of way in scotland (correyairick pass & one in midlothian)
to go offroad uphere you either need a friendly landowner to let you play or be in a club,also uphere AFAIK there is no tresspass law,tresspass only comes into force if causing damage to the land BUT this doesnt give you the right to drive anywhere :!:  :!:

im sure budgie & a few others should be able to help out with more info for you
Mike
I can Drive.. You can criticize..