AuthorTopic: Hi guys, new off roader here, needing advice!  (Read 1320 times)

Offline seanyboy

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Hi guys, new off roader here, needing advice!
« on: October 09, 2009, 10:56:53 »
Hi guys, im new to offroading and need some help on what vehicles to choose. Im stuck between a Disco or classic ranger rover, looking at around the late 80s age! I defo want the 3.5v8 in either, unless u guys can make me change my mind to diesel lol! But yeh i really would like some help, pros and cons to the discos and range rovers from the late 80s. Thanks guys hope to hear soon!

Offline Disco Matt

Attack Member
Re: Hi guys, new off roader here, needing advice!
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2009, 12:49:16 »
One thing to bear in mind with the V8 is that it doesn't take to wading quite as well as the TDI. The TDI will keep running as long as it has air and fuel, while the V8 will cut out if the distributor gets soaked.

Have you tried sitting in the two vehicles? The Disco roofline is higher which may be relevant depending on your dimensions.
1996 Discovery 300TDI. She's got it where it counts...

Offline JimP

Attack Member
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2009, 12:55:25 »
they are both very simlar to be hoenst, i've got a 3.5v8 range rover and have also had a Disco.

personally I prefer the Disco but only just!

I would also say tdi, the V8 sounds awesome and has plenty of power, but doesn't like water and doesnt do much mpg!

Discos tend to rot more than range rovers though

Range rovers seem to be cheaper too I find (sold a 3.5 efi for £600, soemone got a bargain there!)

there's arguements for and agaisnt both, but I'd say a Disco Tdi over a Range V8!
Disco 300tdi - for laning
Suzuki Vitara - for playing!!

Offline Lewis.J.P_1987

Attack Member
  • "Roads?....where we're going, we don't need roads.
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2009, 14:24:25 »