AuthorTopic: Wiring  (Read 7100 times)

Offline graham

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Wiring
« Reply #30 on: September 02, 2007, 21:03:38 »
My sons trying to sort out the wiring on the lightweight one of the things he's trying to sort is the temp gauge, he needs to know what the voltage stabiliser unit is and where it's located can anyone help.

Wiring dia would be  useful  too  :D
Nissan Terrano
Land Rover Lightweight
ex TD5 Discovery &
RR classic owner

Offline Spacemud

Attack Member
    • Rhoose
Wiring
« Reply #31 on: September 02, 2007, 21:17:46 »
On my SIIa it's screwed on the bulkhead behind the instrument panel. A little rectangular box about 5cmx1.5cmx1cm as far as I can remember. It's job is to stabilise the voltage to the dials to stop them reading incorrectly. May be in the same place on a lightweight although I have no experience of them myself.
Spacemud misses his Land Rovers :o(

Offline Lucy1978

Attack Member
Wiring
« Reply #32 on: September 03, 2007, 13:33:21 »
on my series 3 the voltage stabiliser is attached to the back of the instrument cluster, (a little box on the back of the dial unit)

If you're not using the standard coloured wires, print off a wiring diagram and amend it to show the colours you have used instead.  It makes life easier down the line.

Offline graham

Attack Member
Wiring
« Reply #33 on: September 05, 2007, 21:08:23 »
Thanks spacemud and Chris   :D
Nissan Terrano
Land Rover Lightweight
ex TD5 Discovery &
RR classic owner

Offline Evilgoat

Attack Member
Wiring
« Reply #34 on: September 05, 2007, 21:37:07 »
Take your time and dont scrimp on things like connectors. Use fully insulated spaces where possible and if you need to make multiple connections think about something like the Amp Champ IP65 connectors Simtec do.  Its worth taking the time and spending the pennies to make it last.