AuthorTopic: Clutch??  (Read 1216 times)

Offline Chomp

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Clutch??
« on: August 28, 2006, 01:05:33 »
Hi all  - recently i was on a punch hunt with my sj410 and I kept over heating and blowing a hose. >:( Even when the engine has just warmed up I get alot of pressure in the hoses, even though 2 months ago i had a new head gasket done. Any ideas??

Also on the punch hunt whern the engine was getting hot i suddenly found that i couldn't get any drive to the wheels, just like when a clutch has worn out, but when i left her to cool down and drove home there appeared to be nothin wrong with the clutch. Could this be that the clutch is worn and in need of replacement??  If so how difficult is it? i am a complete novice(apart from brake pads and general service) and was wondering if its something I should attempt myself? Would I need any special tools/
Normally i would get a mechanic to sort it, but cash flow is very sparse at the moment, so if i can do it myself that would be great, if not the sj will be confined to the garage  for a couple of months >:(

Any help, or advise will be greatly apreciated.

Cheers

Chomp

Offline fudge

Attack Member
  • Green Oval Recovery... Chl 30 Shout Help Im Stuck!
Clutch??
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2006, 08:18:01 »
I suffer that...... firstly I thought I'd screwed the clutch and so changed it (good days work first time) but then I did it again and I've now adjusted it up and its fine again.... I have a plate that I bought fom Darren @ KAP but haven't fitted it yet.... the clutches seem really weak.... I'm using an after market kit right now on Colway MT's my only conclusion is that the extra grip takes it toll on the plate and over heats it, maybe reduce the strength if the springs, Darren's comp clutch plate has no springs....

Offline Evilgoat

Attack Member
Clutch??
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2006, 09:20:47 »