AuthorTopic: Bulk Head  (Read 4887 times)

Offline kizz81

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Bulk Head
« on: May 13, 2008, 16:13:16 »
hello,
it has unfortunatly come to that time of the 90's life where a new bulkhead is needed as the currant one is rusting left right and centre :cry:

what is the normal price for a good condition second hand bulk head?
how long would it take a complete novice such as me to fit?
what about the wires? big issue or not?
how much of the 90 needs to come apart to fit the bulk head,

i need to do the rear waist band strip things is it best to do them both at the same time?

cheers for any advice

kieran
Ever dreamed about travelling to the land of the midnight sun? visit our website for more info!
www.freespirit4x4.co.uk

Offline MuddyMachine

Attack Member
Re: Bulk Head
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2008, 17:42:12 »
Depends on year of bulk head you fit.

I have a 1985 90 with a 300 bulk head and a disco 200 engine.

They all fit together easy, its just the wiring, you may have some left over.

As for fitting it a case of removing wings, roof, screen and floor.

You should be able to do it with a engine hoist.

You dont need to take the seat box out but it does give you more room.

if you need any more pic's give us a shout :D

Baz
300Tdi Modded 90
H&B Response Call Sign HR039

http://muddymachine.googlepages.com/home

Offline Defender

Attack Member
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2008, 17:44:51 »
Changing a bulkhead is quite a job. I had to do mine & replaced it with a new TD5 bulkhead. The new one cost me £200 form the LR Supermarket in Liverpool. Paddocks also do them at a similar price.
Have a look at my post on this thread for details on how to do the job as the TD5 bulkhead needs modification to fit: http://www.mud-club.com/forum/index.php/topic,55219.0.html
If you can get a decent secondhand one with all the dash, wires, steering column, brake & clutch etc still attached, it will make the job easier.