AuthorTopic: TD5 dropping into Limp Mode  (Read 2823 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mike142sl

  • Posts: 750
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
TD5 dropping into Limp Mode
« on: June 11, 2013, 12:11:24 »
Anyone else come across this or know what is causing it?
2004 TD5 Auto - Often after selecting reverse it 'clunks' into gear and then about a second or two later, whilst reversing, the two green M & S lights start to flash indicating that it is in Limp Mode i.e. third gear only.
Turning the engine off and back on again clears it but all the same, rather annoying.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2013, 12:13:56 by mike142sl »
Mike
Disco TD5 Landmark
SYM GTS250i Voyager
Swift Challenger 490

Offline JIMBOBLY

  • Posts: 402
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: TD5 dropping into Limp Mode
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2013, 20:58:28 »
first thing you need to check ya self mate,is see if the brake lights are working ok,i know this may sound stupid,but if the brake light switch is faulty,it will do this,as a warning that the brake lights are not workin,many people find this weird when i have said that this was the problem,but merc vw skoda and such like are the same,because being an auto,first thing ya do,is put ya foot on the brake to select,just a thought

Offline bilge rat

  • Posts: 726
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: TD5 dropping into Limp Mode
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2013, 22:32:35 »
I think they can play up without the brake lights playing up , think there like a 3 wire switch, checked mine with a multi meter , was on a manual though ..

Offline Budgie

  • Regional Rep
  • *
  • Posts: 2217
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • This post is best viewed on a computer.
    • Lochaber
  • Referrals: 0
Re: TD5 dropping into Limp Mode
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2013, 21:33:02 »
Do you know which box is in it?

I know my L322 did this and cleaning & lubricating the cable under the vehicle made things better, as did a fluid & filter change.
Mine had the ZF box in it as it was a 4.4 V8.