AuthorTopic: ABS Fault  (Read 18132 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BigA

  • Posts: 597
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
ABS Fault
« on: August 29, 2008, 09:49:49 »
My ABS lite is on constantly, again, and there used to be a great page here http://www.mud-club.com/library/?articleid=19 that now no longer exists with the ABS Fault Diagnostics and codes, and a little how to?

has anyone got a working link for this please, or can anyone guide me in the right direction as how to do this.  i remember it involved a wire between 2 points on the diagnostics plug, and counting the number of flashes, but that is as far as it goes.

Many thanks in advance.

Andy
1978 Series III 88"


Offline ChrisW70

  • Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 785
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Chris W

West Midlands Region GLASS Rep
GLASS TRO Officer

Offline beast5680

  • Regional Rep
  • *
  • Posts: 2938
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • hailsham east sussex
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2008, 20:40:41 »
thats a good link i have a fault on mine which i need to check :clap:
Neal

let him that hath understanding reckon the number of the beast

He, who laughs last, laughs best. He who laughs at Chuck Norris dies.

Offline BigA

  • Posts: 597
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2008, 20:17:59 »
http://www.horodecki.pl/rajdy4x4/ABS/Jay%20Beale_%201997%20Land%20Rover%20Discovery%20-%20reset%20ABS%20warning%20light.pdf

Did a google on Discovery ABS pin out  ;)

where were we without google  :doh:

Many thanks for that, once i get the mud off from the birthday bash i will get started.

Thanks again.

Andy
1978 Series III 88"


Offline landroverkeith

  • Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 2400
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Wilby
    • wilby, northants
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2008, 12:46:40 »
 :roll:
2004 D2 TD5 es Premium - R99 MUD
1965 Series 2a 88" V8 "rag top"          
2000 TD5 Es - W99 MUD
Sankey Trailer
        
 

Offline landandy

  • Posts: 53
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Beccles Suffolk
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2008, 15:59:11 »
This shows a different way to old link?

Offline jnoshea

  • Posts: 422
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2009, 22:44:40 »
Yes, it is slightly different as the plug is a different type. I wrote the original workshop article but even I don't have a copy any more (probably still have the photos somewhere though). Anyway, the procedure is the same as the one outlined in this pdf (2.6 MB but worth the download) which is for the Range Rover.

http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/~ppzjno/pdf/ABSBlinkTest.pdf
Cheers
James

Discovery 3 TDV6 2005

Offline NIVAD

  • Posts: 78
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2009, 19:13:39 »
Ive avoided mine for years it works then it doesnt.

Then the other weekend i gave it some abuse in the mud and the abs was pumping alot.

Since then my light goes out as sweat as a nut everytime  :D
CHEERS Paul....

dazliss

  • Guest
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2009, 09:46:56 »
Ok My Disco must be an anomolly but I have no wires going to either pin 15 or 14 nor do I have a Pink/Black wire anywhere. Also I have bought an OBDII fault reader which won't communicate with the car either. any other ideas?

Am I right in thinking if this light is still showing come MOT time its a failiure?

Offline oilburningcossack

  • Posts: 12
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2009, 01:51:11 »
most OBD11s will only read cars petrol after 2001 and diesel after 2004 I need a fault reader and phoned a few suppliers up, as soon as I said it was for a 97 disco they all said that other than this new thing Hawkeye only landrover software would read their ECUs I know some can be read but it was only in the US that OBD11 had to be fitted by 1996 so NAS landrovers would have the 16 pin plug, mine has one in the drivers foot well, but you get no feed from it.
One G-WAC Disco new inner wings,New disc all round, new ball-joints, replaced inner-sills orange polybush new springs and shocks just the engine and g-box to do with full sport ss-exhaust (now she says I cannot take it off road) So I've got another one (well rolling shell) now where was that scorpionracing parts list

Offline karlo

  • Posts: 848
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • TATA The New Green Oval!
    • Swadlincote, South Derbyshire
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2009, 08:08:27 »
Dave & Myself did ours yesterday, a 95 Disco and a 97 Disco, the wires in both plugs are a green with red trace and either of the 2 black wires (both earth). The relay is under the glove box in a tray with lots of others, there is a 13mm nut at the front of the tray which then drops down, the relay for the abs is green (there are 2 green relays under there on the left of the tray) mine was the 2nd relay back tho' Dave's was at the front of the tray, I think some one had changed his around.

If you click the thumb nail it will enlarge then click the pic to enlarge it again.




I picked this up on the web somewhere, Its not written by me and although it worked on ours you use these instructions entirely at your own risk.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 08:24:56 by karlo »

Offline Dave

  • Posts: 1046
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 1
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2009, 19:00:19 »
Good job done that mate. Sounds a pain to do but it was easy when you get stuck in.
DAVE
MUD-CLUB MEMBER 333

 Disco TDI 1998
 Disco TDI 1993    K333 MUD
 Disco TDI 1994
 90  N/A soon to be TDI 1993
 Series 3 1971
 R33 Skyline GTS-T

Offline Lucy1978

  • Posts: 516
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2009, 18:04:45 »
I'm trying to do this on a 1995 (M reg 300tdi) disco for Tim M at the moment, I've found the relay, (I think) but I can't find the diagnostic socket anywhere (there's nothing in the trim below the steering wheel, no blue socket under a seat).
can some one post up a photo of where I should be looking and what I'm looking for please :)
« Last Edit: October 06, 2009, 18:13:18 by climbingchris »

Offline karlo

  • Posts: 848
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • TATA The New Green Oval!
    • Swadlincote, South Derbyshire
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2009, 08:30:32 »
Mine being a late 95 is on the left side near the centre console in the lower plastic trim that fits above the pedals


Offline Lucy1978

  • Posts: 516
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2009, 12:46:54 »
Thanks for the photos Karlo, it confirms that this truck doesn't have that kind of socket.  Guess I need to go looking for a 5 pin socket the earlier models had, anyone know where I should be looking?

Chris

Offline karlo

  • Posts: 848
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • TATA The New Green Oval!
    • Swadlincote, South Derbyshire
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2009, 15:38:22 »
According to the info I got which is posted above it could be a 5 pin socket near the fuse box.


EDIT Just found this http://www.autodiagnos.com/fileadmin/assets/en/downloads/pdf/technical_bulletins/landrover/socket_location_land_Rover_ad.pdf
« Last Edit: October 07, 2009, 15:47:46 by karlo »

Offline Lucy1978

  • Posts: 516
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #16 on: October 07, 2009, 18:36:11 »
Spoke to a friend of a friend at lunch time and have now sorted it. It's a blue 5 pin connector under the piece of trim just above the peddles with 4 wires going into it.  to read the ABS fault codes you short pins 2 and 4 as in the photo below.


Offline Kasper King

  • Posts: 74
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2011, 11:35:50 »
I have this fault, with mine I get it reset no problem but after a while it come back on!
Any ideas?

Offline hrh_dave

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • Theddlethorpe, Lincs, UK
  • Referrals: 1
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2011, 12:19:34 »
more than likely one of the sensors is pooched.... if the fault keeps coming back once youve cleared it... I ended up wiring it up to the oil light to get it though an MOT <Naughty>
"Oh but if I went 'round sayin' I was Emperor, just because some moistened bint lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away."
www.terranomade.co.uk

Offline NIVAD

  • Posts: 78
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #19 on: August 11, 2011, 03:17:11 »
mine played up for years and finally when my speed transducer failed and i had it plugged in he said my abs ecu was nackered.

the ecu was cleared and within 5 foot of movement came up with every abs fault code?

so i changed it and still had faults was told too tap all sensors down firmly but carefully and this worked, i must say i tried this before ecu swap and it didnt work so maybe ecu was nackered?

CHEERS Paul....

Offline rhino-force

  • Posts: 71
  • Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Northampton
  • Referrals: 0
Re: ABS Fault
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2013, 15:42:07 »
can individual male terminals be bought to plug into the diaognostic socket, if so what is the correct name?