AuthorTopic: Getting wet  (Read 4384 times)

Offline Pete5844

• Attack: 100
    Defense: 100
    Attack Member
  • Referrals: 0
Getting wet
« on: April 10, 2004, 22:15:59 »
Help please I'm a bit new to this.I'm wanting to make my Series 3 2.25d able to run in deep water.Now I know I need a snorkel and that's about it so any advice would be most welcome.
     Pete :oops:
Pete

Better Smeg than Dead

Landy Series 111
Pajero 2.5

Offline matthew

Attack Member
Getting wet
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2004, 00:44:05 »
Depends what you call deep :) As standard they will wade to approx 22" which is around top of the seat box height.

As it's diseasel you just need to fit raised axle and transmission breathers and snorkel if you want to.

No snorkel on this and it's petrol.
Cheers

Matthew
1958 Ser II  88" 1962 Ser IIa 109" 1962 Ser IIa 109" Dormobile
www.buryautoclub.co.uk | www.torquebac.co.uk | www.oldlandrovers.co.uk | www.oldroads.co.uk | http://lancsglass.oldroads.co.uk

Offline graham2306

Attack Member
Getting wet
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2004, 20:30:55 »
If you intend to run in water like this regularly make sure you change all the diff, swivel and gearbox oils and grease the propshaft UJs regularly.

You will have noticed that old Landrovers sometimes leak a bit of oil :lol: if the oil can get out the water will get in.
It's not a real car unless it's over 30 years old!
Classic cars are the ones who's owners wave to each other. I just bought a pretend car! F plate 90!

N.Oxon GLASS Rep

Offline Pete5844

Attack Member
Getting wet
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2004, 22:11:36 »
I've seen lots of them running in water up to their windows,how do you sort the inlets,electrics and so forth
Pete

Better Smeg than Dead

Landy Series 111
Pajero 2.5

Offline datalas

• Administrator
    Attack Member
Getting wet
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2004, 22:36:38 »
That's quite a tricky question.